About the Department

Political Science had been an integral part of the umbrella department known as the Department of Economics, Political Science and Civics, which was then headed by Prof. A. E. Brown. After the bifurcation of the umbrella department in 1962, the Department of Political Science came into existence. Dr. Ashraf Ali became the first head of the independent department. In 1985, the Department introduced post-graduate courses under Gauhati University. At present, the Department is functioning as one of the largest department of Cotton University, established by the Cotton University Act, 2017 passed by the Assam Legislative Assembly on 2 March 2017. The Department offers Graduate, Post Graduate and Ph.D. Courses.